Feature :: Vesta

I finally got  myself over to Vesta in Redwood City last night. I’ve been dying to try what I’ve heard is very, very good pizza. Its an amazing spot. Tried two starters – a kale salad with jalapeño, pickled raisins, breadcrumbs, pecorino & avocado green onion dressing and grilled carrots with cilantro, paprika, cumin, garlic and lemon yogurt – and loved both. The carrots had almost an Indian-tasting tilt, with the cumin. Would be a great dish to recreate at home. The kale salad didn’t wow me, but I enjoyed it.

The real star was the pizza: sausage and honey (tomato sauce, huge chunks of spicy Italian sausage, mascarpone, fresh parsley, honey and serrano chilis sprinkled about). Heaven on a pie. Probably the best pizza I’ve ever had – the dough was perfect and I’m a sucker for the savory/sweet flavor combo.

All in all, an excellent addition to downtown Redwood City and the Peninsula food scene.

Vesta // 2022 Broadway St., Redwood City

Leave a Reply

