Cronut Madness Has Arrived

 

In my city, mouth and digestive system. Needless to say, I was immediately infected by the cronut craze that started with Dominique Ansel’s magical pastry hybrid creation a few months ago and have been dying to try the thing itself. I was encouraged by the knockoffs popping up everywhere – on the East Coast, in the South, and finally, in San Francisco two weeks ago. And then I heard Paris Baguette in downtown Palo Alto was making their own version, called the NYC Croissant Donut.

IMG_5594

I don’t particularly like Paris Baguette (that’s a nice way of putting it) but I knew I had to see what all the hype was about. It wasn’t going to be any Dominique Ansel product, but how bad can any deep-fried sweet be?

IMG_5608

Not bad. After dropping in yesterday (silly me) to pick up a cronut and being told that Paris Baguette only sells these puppies at 11:30 a.m. at 2 p.m. and, not only that, you have to call to pre-order a minimum of two before those times. They were obviously already sold out for the day, so I called this morning and placed my order.

IMG_5607

The verdict: Delicious, but way, way too rich. There’s not only that custard squiggle on top, but also lots o’ custard inside (see oozing above). The custard was too sweet and took away from the rest of the pastry. But otherwise, it was pretty great. Quite the indulgence, needless to say.

IMG_5602

Leave a Reply

