NYC Edition :: Roberta’s

IMG_4801

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before (and you’ve probably vowed to never read my blog again if I did), but I’ve never been a big pizza fan. It’s not that I don’t like it, I just never crave pizza or seek it out. However, the constant indignation of all my pizza-loving friends and the thought that I should give pies a chance has made me reconsider. I tried Delfina a few weeks ago in San Francisco and wasn’t totally wowed but really, really enjoyed it.

So I was actually really excited to check out Roberta’s in Bushwick during my New York trip. Plus I saw on Yelp that they serve tap beer in mason jars, so I was already sold. From the outside, it looks like any other partially graffiti’d storefront in a still up-and-coming neighborhood. But then you enter, and there’s a giant pizza oven and there’s sweet baked goods and there’s lights and there’s an outdoor garden and there’s cute picnic tables. And there’s pizza. And it was good: perfect dough, perfect proportions of cheese to sauce to toppings, perfect pretty much everything. The end.

One comment

Leave a Reply

