Review: The Standard

This past weekend, my best friend rented a room at The Standard Hotel in downtown LA for her and her boyfriend per a fourth year anniversary celebration. FOUR YEARS!!! So naturally, being back in LA, I decided to crash the celebration and enjoy what The Standard has to offer! I had only heard random people talk about the cool rooftop bar so I just thought it was a supa nice hotel with a supa nice rooftop bar. Little did I know…the whole hotel is decorated circa 1980’s…

with retro/modern/crazy cool furniture everywhere…

rooms with a mini bar stocked with, among other things, Mr. Bubble bubble bath AND mini Hennessy (I’ve always thought the two go quite well together…)

and quirky signs everywhere that made me laugh.

The rooftop was pretty cool too.

                 

Not just a bar, but also a gorgeous infinity pool and a beer garden to boot!

Don’t worry – there was food involved too. To top it all off, a delicious breakfast the next morning at the hotel restaurant, 24/7. (I didn’t manage to get any pictures of the 5 epic meals we ordered via 24-hour room service at 3 a.m. Sorry i’m not sorry.) My friend and I split a chicken chopped salad with avocado and oregano vinaigrette and an omelette with fresh herbs, goat cheese, and smoked salmon. Plus some damn good breakfast potatoes.

MMMMMM. All in all, an awesome, very different hotel experience. I would definitely go back. If not for the Mr. Bubbles or the rooftop, definitely for some more food at the restaurant. If you’re in the LA area, I urge you to do the same!

Leave a Reply

